About Us

The Corpus Christi Literary Reading Series is a grassroots arts organization that celebrates literature by inviting one author at a time to Coastal Texas to read, participate in a Question and Answer session, and sign books. Larry McMurtry, the Pulitzer Prize- winning author of “Lonesome Dove,” “Terms of Endearment,” and “The Last Picture Show,” among many other titles, was our first reader when we began in 1987.

At these twice yearly readings, invited authors read from - and talk about - their work, answer questions, and sign books. Our guests have included such esteemed authors as John Updike, Richard Ford, Grace Paley, Junot Diaz, Ann Beattie, and many others. (Click on "Past Readings" above for a complete list.) The Art Museum of South Texas Auditorium provides the venue for the readings, and patrons dine with the author at a private reception the evening before each event.

Support for this 501(C)3 arts organization is provided entirely by patrons - readers who believe the Corpus Christi Literary Reading Series is a valuable asset to the community.

Susan Hutchinson, Mary Gleason, Susan McConnell, Mary Sherwood, Jeannette Jones Sosa, Daryl Tanner, Janis Williams, Joe Wilson and Dee Wimbish - make up the CCLRS Board of Directors